RENTAL RESOURCES AND FAQs
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO RENT VEHICLES WITH STEVE’S ATV
OCEANO RENTAL ORIENTATION VIDEO
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
WHAT ATV/UTV DO YOU RECOMMEND?
We can make a general suggestion, but it really comes down to rider fit and rider ability. We will evaluate all riders during the instruction time and if we don’t feel you fit that vehicle right, we will suggest another bike. We want you to be safe and have a good time. Our Average adult rider will operate the Honda 250ex or Kymco Automatic 300/330.The average kids rider varies on ability. The smaller. Please call the locations to discuss your situations with a customer service rep.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM TO RIDE?
We allow 5 year-olds to pilot themselves on ATV and a big 4 year old on to be a seat-belted in passenger on a RZR. For your protection, we do not allow car seats in the RZR’s.
WHAT DO I WEAR?
Wear Long pants, closed toe shoes, and long sleeve shirt or sweatshirts. It can get cold sometimes as it can be nice and then the fog rolls in suddenly. Every person is required to wear a helmet, so If you have your own, please bring it. We have helmets to lend you and they are included with your rental. Goggles and gloves, if you don’t have them, we rent them.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM AGE TO BE A DRIVER ON RZR?
- Minimum age is 21 years to operate RZR Ace’s
- Minimum Age is 30 years to operate RZR’s & RZR-4’s
- Minimum Age is 40 years old to operate RZR-XP’s
WHAT RENTALS CAN ACCOMMODATE 2 PEOPLE?
The only vehicles that can accommodate 2 people safely are the line of RZR UTV’s and the Can-Am Outlander 400. Any Outlander passenger must be able to sit on seat and have feet reach the foot rest (Approximately 50”).
CALIFORNIA & OREGON STATE PARKS REQUIREMENTS FOR UNDER AGE RIDERS?
State Parks are now mandating that our rental customers must show proof of a ATV Safety Certificate before we can allow you to rent ATVs for your kids who are under 18 years old. This law is CVC 38503 and the complete text is available at the State Parks Website (Click here for the page)
1) If you show up and you want to ride with your kids you can hire our chaperon (tag along) with a safety card so you can comply with CVC 38503. You must agree to stay with your chaperon at all times to stay in compliance with CVC 38503 and CVC 38504
2) If you have an hour and a half that you can spend at your computer you can go to http://www.rideatvoregon.org/ and get a online ATV Training Certificate for you and four of your kids. This will give you a license to ride in Oregon and also in California. Be sure to print out the temporary ATV Safety Certificate so you can present it when renting for your kids.
3) You can contact ASI directly (http://www.atvsafety.org) to see if they are offering an ASI Training Course at the Oceano Dunes on the weekend you are visiting.
- At all times when an adult is directly supervising kids under the age of 14. The adult must possess an ATV Safety Card. CVC 38503
- 2) At all times when an adult is supervising kids between the age of 14 and 18 if the kids do not possess a safety card of their own. CVC 38504. The supervising adult must possess an ATV Safety Card.
- 3) Anytime a rider age 14-17 wishes to ride without adult supervision. The under age rider posses an ATV safety card. CVC 38504a
GENERAL OPERATION RULES
- Only adult riders who have signed the Rental Agreement and Waiver of Liability (“Agreement”), or a minor whose parent or guardian has signed the Agreement on their behalf, shall operate any ATV, or other rental vehicle.
- A helmet must be worn fastened at all times while operating an ATV, or other vehicle!! Additionally wearing chest protectors, gloves, goggles, knee and elbow pads, long pants, long sleeve shirt or jacket, and over the ankle boots will greatly reduce risk of injury.
- Do not operate any ATV in a manner other than with both hands on the handlebars, both feet on the pegs. Do not operate any UTV until all occupants are properly seat belted.
- No drugs or alcohol consumption before or during use and possession of rented ATV or other vehicle and equipment.
- Obey all posted signs. Do not ride faster than posted speed limits.
- Do not carry passengers other than as originally mounted on the vehicle with the equipment assigned. NO RIDING DOUBLE ON ATVS DESIGNED FOR 1 PERSON. Follow manufactures seating requirements.
- Ride at your current skill level. Don’t push your limit! Be careful.
- Do not ride outside designated OHV areas or trails. They are clearly marked.
- Do not ride in the water, wet sand or mud. It corrodes the machine. You will be charged for cleanup each machine!
- The minimum rollover charge for any ATV is $25.00. The minimum charge for any UTV rollover is $300 plus the cost to repair the damages – parts at retail price, labor at $100 per hour and vehicle downtime at the daily rental rate. If a rollover or tip over occurs where the damage disables the vehicle, the remainder of your time is downtime and no substitute vehicle will be given. This is not limited to tipping or flipping the vehicle on its side or top.
- Respect people’s campsites and do not endanger the campers, their kids or pets. The speed limit around campsites and on the beach is 15 mph.
- Do not participate in any race or other contest involving ATV/UTV’s or other vehicles.
- Do not tow other ATVs or other vehicles and do not have them tow you and your rental ATV or rental vehicles.
- Watch out for drop-offs and sand bowls. They can vary from one foot to 80 feet. Be very careful!
- Watch out for rocks and ruts while riding in the desert. Hitting rocks/sharp objects can ruin tires and damage the suspension of your rental. You are responsible for all tire damage that occurs during your rental.
- Be aware of other riders and vehicles. Conditions can become crowded very quickly.
- Ride prepared. Bring a charged cell phone, suitable clothing, maps and bottled water.
- Do not attempt steep trails when you do know where they end up. Being trapped at bottom of a canyon can lead to expensive recovery bill for your machine.
- Do not park and leave vehicle or equipment unattended. Stay with your vehicle. You are responsible if your ATV/UTV disappears.
- In case of a breakdown, call your rental location listed on the yellow sticker on your vehicle or speak with a park ranger. Do not leave a disabled vehicle alone at any time. Additional rental time will be allocated for time lost due to a breakdown for the rider of the down vehicle only.
- Anyone not following these rules or caught speeding or riding without a helmet, will be escorted back to Steve’s ATV and the remainder of their riding time will be forfeited.
- Vehicles are to be returned on time or additional fees will be charged.
- There are no refunds for early returns.
- There are no refunds due to weather changes.
- You must return to refuel every 3 hours.